Creations, Musings and Shenanigans

Welcome to my little corner of the Internet.
I hope you find something here that will inspire you!

Another Wine-Themed Birthday Card | Using Stamps and Simple Watercoloring (No Die Cuts)

Hi everyone. I hope you’re doing well!

I’ve got a quick project share for you today. I made this card for a friend’s birthday and love how easy it was to create with minimal supplies. 

I was inspired by the elements used in Monica’s greeting card (which you can find here), especially the background she created with repeat stamping and the torn-edge panels for each image. Monica posted a detailed tutorial over on the Country Crafts Challenge blog, which I highly recommend checking out for a step-by-step breakdown.

Here’s an overview of how I made this card:

  1. I stamped three images from the Tim Holtz Mini Blueprints 10 stamp set with Jet Black Archival Ink on Neenah Solar White 80 lb cardstock and colored them with Zig Clean Color Real Brush Markers. Note: The images I used are also available in the Mini Wine Blueprints set, which only includes the four images featured in this card.
  2. I tore out each image in a rough rectangular shape, making sure to get really distressed edges. I lightly inked the edges with Vintage Photo Distress Ink and added Ranger Glossy Accents to the grapes, wine bottle and wine glass. This doesn’t show up well in the photo, but in real life it’s slightly dimensional, completely clear and very shiny.
  3. I set the images aside to dry and started on the background. I wanted a 5 x 7 inch birthday card, so I took a 4 x 6 inch piece of white cardstock and stamped it with a woodgrain background stamp using the same ink I used for the smaller images. Over this, I stamped the corkscrew image from the stamp set, repeating it to cover the whole piece.
  4. I tore up the edges of the background panel and inked the edges the same way as before, but then decided to lightly ink over the entire panel to tone it down a little. I then glued this panel to the center of a brown 5 x 7 card base from my stash.
  5. I realized the smaller panels weren’t standing out against the background, so I matted each of them on Neenah 65lb black cardstock and tore around the edges to leave a border. This looked way better, so I decided to create my sentiments the same way. I used sentiments from the Fiskars Aged to Perfection stamp set, which I stamped in Jet Black on white cardstock, distressed and matted exactly like the image panels.
  6. I played around with the placement of the small panels till I liked the way they looked, then glued them down and the card was done!

I don’t have more images for this project, since I made this card in something of a rush and only remembered to take a picture after handing it to my friend. I’m all too guilty of making projects and giving them away before realizing I should have documented them. Do you find yourself doing that too?

I will definitely be recreating this card design, maybe with a few tweaks here and there, and will post a tutorial for it. I love how quick it was to put together, despite looking very complicated. I hope you like it and will leave me a comment if you have any feedback. 

Until next time, be kind and stay creative!

Supplies:

Comments

3 responses to “Another Wine-Themed Birthday Card | Using Stamps and Simple Watercoloring (No Die Cuts)”

  1. […] #24 Sarina – Emma says: This is such a beautiful card and perfect for our challenge theme. The colouring is gorgeous and I love the panels and arrangement. Fabulous work, Sarina and I’m sure your friend is going to love it… […]

    Like

  2. Dora Sanchez Avatar
    Dora Sanchez

    Hello, Sarina
    I like how you arrange the drinks and your colors. Congratulations for the spotlight 👏.

    Like

    1. Sarina Parhawk Avatar
      Sarina Parhawk

      Thank you, Dora!

      Like

Leave a Reply (comments will be published after moderation)